Cancelling Or Declining An Instant Exchange
3 min
overview cancelling or declining an instant exchange in the refundid merchant portal can be a bit nuanced essentially, the process mirrors that of an instant refund when an instant exchange is cancelled or declined, refundid assumes the order has been placed and will issue a direct debit against the customer, which means the retailer should handle these actions with care scenarios for cancellations customer changes their mind and wants an instant refund if a customer decides they prefer an instant refund instead of the exchange, the retailer should process the refund in shopify and not adjust anything in refundid this ensures that the funds are returned to the customer properly, and refundid will automatically handle the payout to the customer customer no longer wants the return in cases where the customer changes their mind and no longer wants the return, the retailer should cancel and refund the order in shopify first and then cancel the return in refundid this will allow refundid to recoup the funds correctly, ensuring the customer is refunded and the transaction is properly balanced order already dispatched if the new order has already been dispatched and the customer decides not to proceed with the return, the retailer can cancel the return in refundid refundid will then charge the customer for the order, and the customer will keep both the original and the new items if the customer later wants to return the new order, they can still initiate a return as usual important considerations retailers should be cautious when cancelling or declining instant exchanges to avoid confusion always coordinate with refundid to ensure that the correct steps are followed and that the customer’s funds are handled appropriately relodging the return if a return is declined and you'd like to reopen it so the customer can lodge it again, this can be done by using the change to cancel button on the dashboard this is visible on the slideout of the return visible when you click on the return listing for context, cancelling a return will allow it to be relodged once the reversal has completed, whilst declining a return will not changing to cancel won't allow relodgement immediately if the reversal has not cleared